Club History

The Frankston YCW Football Club evolved from junior teams representing the St Francis Xavier Parish and St Francis Xavier Primary School in the late 1950s and early 1960s. The original jumper was maroon with a white YCW inscription on the front.
The Frankston YCW Football Club played its first official game in the Frankston and District Junior Football League (FDJFL) on 7 May 1967. The club initially fielded under 13 and under 15 teams in the FDJFL and under 17 and Under 19 teams in the YCW competition. The club first fielded a Senior team in 1967 and Reserves team in 1968. The senior teams played in the YCW metropolitan football league until 1972 winning one 1 st XVIII premiership in 1968. Between 1967 and 1972 the club played in Richmond Style Jumpers.
In 1972 the senior teams became affiliated with the Nepean Football League. The club changed its jumper that year to the infamous bumblebee style black and gold horizontal hoops (Geelong style).
1974 Reserves Premiership Team.

Back Row: Brian Marchmont, Remigio Rossetto, John Healy, Peter Hamilton, Michael Callaghan, Graeme Alderson, John Rowe (Coach), David Reid, Ron Edgar (Runner).
4th Row: Jim Martin, Michael Goonan, Con Van Haaster, Bernie McKeown (Ass Coach), Noel Gregory, Peter Evans, Anthony Wood.
3rd Row: Don McKenzie (Manager), George Elgers, Bernie Monty, Lloyd Brown, Ewan Cole (Vice-Capt), Shane Castles, Jack Groenendaal, Terry Goodall, Kevin Collopy.
2nd Row: Jack Wagg (President), Terry Rowe, Geoff Stafford, Kevin Prendegast, Laurie McMahon (Coach), John Porter, Robert Talbot, Eric Neill, William Bouker (Trainer).
Front Row: Sean McMahon, Paul Willis, Phillip Grostrate, James Renouf, Phillip Meaney, Mathew Rowe, Absent: Peter McKenna.

The 1 st VXIII won premierships in 1974, 1975, and were runners up in 1976 and 1979. The 2 nd XVIII won their first premiership in 1973 and were runners up 4 times in 1971, 1974, 1975, 1979. The 3rd VXIII won 4 premierships 1974, 1976, 1977, 1978, and were runners up in 1971, 1975, 1986. The 4th XV111 were victorious 4 times from 1972 to 1974 and in 1980.
In 1987 the Nepean League merged with the Mornington Peninsula Football League to form 2 Divisions of the Mornington Nepean Football League (MPNFL ).
The club changed its jumper twice that year. An all yellow jumper was used for the first few games but was subsequently changed, due to a colour clash, to an all-black jumper with gold collar and cuffs and with a Frankston YCW monogram sown on the left breast.
We commenced in the Second division that year and the Seniors finished third, losing to Edithvale-Aspendale in the Preliminary Final with the Reserves going out in the 1st Semi-final against Rosebud. The following year, 1988, the Seniors finished runners up to Rosebud and the Under 18s won the premiership over Karingal. In 1989, we won the premiership against Karingal and were promoted to Division 1.
We have since won Senior Premierships in 1991, 1992, 1993, 1997, 2003, 2010, 2011,2012 and 2014 while being runners up no less than four times in 1994, 2005 & 2006. The Reserves won Premierships in 1996, 1997, 2001, 2004, 2011 & 2012 and being 7 times runner up 1990, 1991, 1992, 1999, 2000, 2003 and 2009. The Thirds lifted the Cup in 1996, 1999, 2005 and 2008 and missed out in 1995, 2001, 2003 & 2012. In 1995 the jumper was again changed to the current style of yellow with black panels, white trim and Stonecat monogram sown to the front.
In 2012 the club joined the MPNFL Netball competition fielding teams in the Senior and Reserves grades.